In most countries it is only the Governments, through their central banks, who are permitted to issue currency. But in Scotland three Banks - Bank of Scotland, Clydesdale Bank and The Royal Bank of Scotland - are still allowed to issue banknotes.

The Scottish banks issue notes in denominations of £5, £10, £20, £50 and £100.   Only the Royal Bank of Scotland continues to issue a small volume of £1 notes.  Information about the legal position with regard to Scottish banknotes can be obtained by selecting "Legal Position" from the menu above.

To aid identification the Scottish banks have all agreed to issue notes of specific value in the same predominant colour.  Thus for the new polymer notes the £5's are blue, £10's are brown, £20's are maroon/purple, £50's are red and the £100 is green.