Committee of Scottish Bankers

Current Banknotes

In most countries it is only the Governments, through their central banks, who are permitted to issue currency.  But in Scotland three Banks - Bank of Scotland, Clydesdale Bank and The Royal Bank of Scotland - are still allowed to issue banknotes.

The Scottish banks issue notes in denominations of £5, £10, £20, £50 and £100.   Only the Royal Bank of Scotland continues to issue a small volume of £1 notes.  Information about the legal position with regard to Scottish banknotes can be obtained by selecting "Legal Position" from the menu on the left of your screen.

To aid identification the Scottish banks have all agreed to issue notes of specific value in the same predominant colour.  Thus £5 notes are blue, £10 notes are brown, £20 notes are maroon/purple, £50 notes are green and £100 notes are red.

In addition to the normal series of notes, in recent years some banks have issued special designs to commemorate, for example, special events, anniversaries or achievements.

To obtain detailed information about the design and security features of the banknotes it currently issues click on the name of a bank in the menu opposite or select from the corporate logos below.

You will need Flash Player installed in order to view all the banknote details.  You can download it free by clicking on this icon.Link to Macromedia Flash Player

Bank of Scotland Corporate LogoClydesdale Bank Corporate Logo     Royal Bank of Scotland Corporate Logo